top of page

My Best Money Savings as a Student

As a student from Indonesia, everything in the UK is super expensive for me. I always try to find cheaper options before spending my money and I'm quite happy that my student card always comes handy most of the times.

These are some of my top savings so far!

Life saver. I use this card for so many things: Cinema, National Express, food, and many more.

I've used this card to get 50% off National Express coach to London, 40% off Pizza Express, and my one of best savings was ODEON cinema tickets where I got additional 25% discount using NUS card on top of the-already-cheaper student price. Wow!

How much: £12 per year

More discount options here. I use this App for seasonal discounts in H&M, Hotels.com, books at Waterstone's, laptop, to a free McFlurry in Mcdonalds!

How much: FREE

I signed up to the free 6 months trial during Fresher's Week at BU and I love it! I got addicted watching Lucifer and Grand Tour 😍😍

I can also access Amazon Music for free although the song selections are not as complete compared to iTunes. No complaint though since it's free! You will get mostly free delivery fee as well as a Prime member. I'm currently on my second year subscription, with student price only £39 per year.

How much: free for the first 6 months

Where to get: Sign up here to get £5 Amazon voucher for paid subsription

This one is not specifically for students but definitely useful for International students like me who often receive / send money abroad. I've been using Transferwise for a while now and super happy with the exchange rate (usually higher than XE.com) & their low transfer fee. So far it's the cheapest options compared to Moneygram, Western Union and World Remit. Use my referral link to get free transfer fee and find out their brilliant reward system (the best part for student pocket lol).

How much: free transfer for first use using link below

Where to get free transfer: https://transferwise.com/u/yeyens

Some of the links above are referral links which won't cost you anything more but it gives you additional benefit compared to signing up in their original website. You can also use your own referral link to get certain rewards after you sign up. WIN-WIN solution!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page